Nowadays most people learn academic study in university, but others think we should be encouraged to learn vocational skills more. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is frequently asserted that vocational training should be prompted in higher education rather than academic skills. I personally think that there is little to disagree with in this school of thought for some justifications.

Granted, some may argue that students are to learn scholastic study during the period of university and college. This is predicated on the assumption that in the world of materialism, which value socioeconomic status above all, the only possible way to gain credibility and become wealthy is by taking on academic study that can provide students with not only professional knowledge on the subject but opportunities for career development, therefore, theoretical courses are of great importance. However, this line of reasoning is not sound as focusing on vocational skills can helps learners secure well-paid jobs more quickly than those with academic qualifications. This can be seen in the way many recruiters are in favor of alumni from practice-oriented programs as they have attained experiences. Such exposure would give them a head start over others, ensuring resounding successes for students.

There are other reasons to advocate vocational training in universities. Chief of these is that by encouraging these programs, it would aid to waive the imbalance in the labour market. As students are leaning towards studying academically, some jobs have become unreasonably appealing, meaning that the acceptance rate would be increasingly high, which results in unemployment among students with diplomas. These may include positions that involve undemanding tasks and favorable work environments such as office workers in a business setting. In addition, other jobs, for example, nursing and crafting would become less popular and undesirable. This could lead to potential shortage of labour, affecting the economy perniciously in the long run.

In conclusion, vocational lessons in university should be fostered for the sake of individuals and the country as a whole.