Nowadays, most people try to balance work and other aspects of their life. Unfortunately, not many people achieve this balance.

What problem does this cause?

Can you suggest some solutions to this issue?

It is obvious that work is the most crucial part of a person’s life as most of a person’s time is spent on this aspect. However, other commitments also contribute to their overall well-being. Therefore, there is a dire need to strike the balance between work and these parts, which is hardly attained by the majority of people. A number of reasons and solutions will be put forwards in this essay.

Regarding the culprits for this knotty problem, heavy workload and poor time management are among the most serious. Firstly, people who are most prone to this issue are often those who work for big corporations in which the amount of work is almost always overwhelming. Statistics show that many employees working for multinational companies often find themselves stuck at work way later than the time they are expected to finish work. A further contributing factor is the workers’ insufficient skill in managing their work schedules. This is usually the case among young new staff as they may not be familiar with the company’s operational routines and have not acquired adequate know-how for the job. For example, a new teacher in their first years of teaching usually allocate much of their time at the workstation preparing lesson plans, making props for their lessons. Only these simple tasks can take up much of their free time and leave out too little time for family and other aspects of life which are of no less importance.

It is, therefore, imperative for measures to combat this matter to be taken. One viable solution is for employees to prioritize the commitments in their life. What this means is if they value family more, they must choose the kind of job that they can do well with the least time possible. This usually equates to doing a job that may not be their best choice. As for the second concern, should new workers in an organization do part-time jobs, go on work experience placements during their time at university, they will be able to adapt to new working environments with no problems. Besides, there should be support available to them when they are stuck. If these initiatives were taken by employers and senior colleagues alike, this situation could be reversed and people can reduce the time they spend on work and as a result, work-life balance can be ameliorated.

In summary, there is a myriad of reasons for this thorny issue but chief among those are intimidating amounts of work and ill management skill. However, with support and good preparation on the part of the employees, this problem can be lessened.