Some people think spoken communication is more powerful than written communication.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a fact that communication takes many different forms and there are basically two methods of conveying a person’s idea, namely spoken written. From my point of view, I entirely gravitate towards the idea suggested in the statement.

In the first place, verbal messages appear long before the introduction of written cues. Even before birth, babies’ parents often spend time talking to them; this is when only verbal stimuli can have a constructive effect on the development of the children. Obviously, at this stage, no communication via writing can be successful as the children cannot take in such clues. Therefore, this argument proves that even when this is no message conveyed through the use of the written form, speaking can perform its tasks well.

Furthermore, the most applied medium for imparting knowledge is by oral means. Most children are sent to school so that they can listen to their teachers and learn from their lessons. These are almost always carried out in speaking. Students do read, of course, but reading is less important to pupils, especially when they are in the early years of their education. This leads me to believe that spoken communication is of greater influence then written one.

Las but not least, there are subtle aspects that only face-to-face interactions can reveal. Whilst it is undeniable that people can sharpen and refine what they say when they communicate their thought via writing, real emotions can be hidden. In contrast, when talking in person, the two parties can sense how the other is truly feeling and take appropriate action accordingly. For example, as two friends are talking about the wedding rings their husbands bought for them, they may observe their friend’s facial expressions and adjust their act or they can change the subject if their friend does not feel comfortable.

In conclusion, it is my firm belief that when a person speaks, it can convey much more than when they write as they can be effective in the early years of childhood, schooling and can put across subtle feelings.