Some people think that newspapers are the best way to learn news. However, others believe that they can learn news better through other media. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Keeping oneself updated is one of people’s basic needs. Some claim that they can obtain information on current affairs best by means of newspapers. However, I believe that others media such as the television, the radio and the Internet are far more effective as regards news gathering.

On the one hand, newspapers would be the most reasonable choice for people of older generations. These senior citizens, I suppose, prefer this medium because of its familiarity. In fact, for many of those aged between 40 and 60, reading a newspaper in the morning has been a vital part of their life. A telling example is my grandfather, who is 65 years old now, who always starts his day with some news in the paper. Another reason which accounts for the belief that newspapers are better than any other methods of updating the news is the limits of Internet connections in certain areas. There are still many places in the world where Internet access is at exorbitant prices. The case in point is countries Africa, in which many people are still struggling with provisioning themselves with daily necessities, not to mention the luxury of the Internet. For them, an occasional newspaper would be more than enough.

Having said that, technology has come a long way in news reporting, thereby making newspapers obsolete. There are other ways that people can keep themselves up to date quickly and comfortably, such as the TV, the radio and the Internet. Getting news from television has long been the norm for many people. The public spend quite a lot of time watching TV or listen to the radio on a daily basis, and news coverage is incorporated in these programs, so they can easily be informed of what is happening. Besides, there has been a sharp increase in the number of Internet users., most of whom are young and their daily activities primarily revolve around technology and the Internet. For these digital natives, there is no point in putting away their smartphones or tablets to pick up a newspaper to get the news. With the devices, it is much more convenient and they can enjoy reading the news wherever they are, either on the move or in the comfort of their air-conditioned room. Finally, compared to reading a newspaper, more high-tech equipment provides more colorful and eye-catching, realistic-looking images rather than just dull black-and-white ones in the traditional one. Therefore, these methods of receiving the news are much preferable.

In conclusion, there are certainly some benefits of the old-fashioned newspaper, I am of the opinion that the alternative media can provide a more exciting and pleasant way to attain the news.