Some people believe that the responsibility for the protection of the environment is by a transnational organization, rather than by each individual country.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The worsening of the environment has been a considerable cause for concern among people from all walks of life. It is generally claimed that an international body should be solely accountable for environmental protection; I strongly believe that, however, it is the duty of each country and the concerted effort among all nations worldwide.

Of utmost importance is each individual state’s contribution to the common cause of preventing the environment from deteriorating any further. In fact, it is the country that is in and under direct contact and impact of climate changes that would feel it most clearly. Therefore, the most appropriate measures would be able to be invented and implemented. For example, if a city of a country is suffering from water pollution, it is the inhabitants in that city would suffer the most and local authorities are those who work directly with them, and thus understand their problems mostly correctly. It is hardly possible, nonetheless, for experts from other countries to fully grasp the magnitude of the problem if they just go to the site to do research to tackle with the symptoms of the problem only.

Added to this is the function of an international organization which gives most general guidance and in charge of the overall functioning of the global environment. It is true that if a minor part of the environment is adversely affected or damaged, there can be calamitous ramifications on other regions of the world as a whole. Besides, in order for an organization of global influence to be established, there should be a consensus among all the nations involved. It means that this establishment has the trust among its members to give guidance, support as well as necessary intervention when an environmental issue arises in any nation.

In short, to reverse the damaging effects on the environment, it is the role of each country, which is most crucial, coupled with the guidance and support from a world-wide organization.