Teleworking has been on the increase in recent years. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Teleworking, also known as the activity of working at home, while communicating with the office by phone, email or using the Internet, has been significantly popular in recent years, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic. From my standpoint, the positive features of the development will outweigh the negative ones.

To begin with, there will be drawbacks about this new, modern development. First, troubles can be caused by internet connection, unstable connection has a huge impact on the performance of employees and this can lead to low quality and quantity of products. Second, workers may find it difficult working without collaboration as collaboration an essential feature for any workplace. Employees may suffer from stress, mental disorders, etc… there will be disagreements among team members and productivity will be reduced. Teleworking, which means working at home, can cause distractions, such as children running around, TV is on with noises, pets, etc… These distractions do not have a positive impact on the workers, so this can lead to significant degradation in quality of work and products.

On the other hand, this development can have more positive aspect than negative ones. Firstly, work productivity can be increased while maintaining the staff’s high level of satisfaction. Job satisfaction can be considered as one of the most important features that a workplace should provide to its workers. Secondly, teleworking can build a flexible work culture and employees can work outside standard working hours. For instance, Dell Company created a flexible workplace that resulted in $12 million savings in 2014, in fact, Dell is among the companies offering flexible work schedules and arrangements, allowing employees to work remotely some or all of the time, and at variable hours. Thirdly, flexible work options can have a huge impact on employee satisfaction, Dell workers are reported to be highly satisfied while they do not need large workspace and their products meet the business meets.

In conclusion, teleworking is a new and modern type of work that companies could apply as the advantages easily outweigh the disadvantages. Teleworking can especially be enhance during the current COVID-19 pandemic, this not only help maintain the economic incomes while keeping workers safe at home in the pandemic.