Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

In today’s modern world, success has become the factor of measurements in society which leads to the fact the more parents are having the tendency to put their children under great pressure to achieve maximum in numerous aspects of life. This essay will attempt to shed light on the contributing factors of this phenomenon which brings about several detrimental effects to the children.

To commence with, there are some reasons why parents put too much tension on their offspring. Firstly, they always expect their children to achieve better results which might bring a lot of opportunities for them in the future. For example, most parents want their son or daughter to become a doctor or police in the future which urges them to force their children to suffer from tremendous pressure of studying. Another radical reason would be the fear of parents that their young offspring will make wrong decisions. In the eyes of moms and dads, their children are always immature and childish. This conception explains the parents’ involvement in every big decision of the young such as job decisions or marriage.

However, in my perspective, the severe control and involvement of elders might negatively affect kids’ development. Mental problems, such as depression or autism, could be a result of suffering overloaded pressure. For instance, every year South Korea has recorded the highest ratio of students who committed suicide because of stress of study which their parents put on them. Besides, forcing too much pressure on the kids would result in serious arguments among family members and even destroy their relationship. Especially for juveniles, they would have the tendency to confront their parents, behave aggressively and do opposite things as the elder expect, and committing illegal activities would be the worst outcome. There was research showing that most young criminals said that they were very disappointed about their families.

In conclusion, despite parents’ enforcement might help children to achieve better outcomes, I reckon that it would create several disadvantages to them.