nowadays, people are encouraged to buy consumer goods. do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

People all need goods from basic to the most luxurious. Some people claim that people should be spurred to by more consumer goods to develop economic while others claim that it can reduce the quality of goods for the sake of producers’ profit. I partly agree with this trend of purchasing consumer goods.

On the one hand, it is argued that a higher amount of consumer consumption is beneficial for social development. Firstly, if the purchasing power of the market increase ceaselessly, manufacturers and producers will aim to meet the market’s demand in the production of more goods. With more tax collected from such enterprises and daily spending of individuals, government can allocate this revenue in other key sectors to upgrade the infrastructures. As a result, this might help foster the general prosperity of a country’s economy. Secondly, people’s consumption is to some extent the action of self-satisfaction. No sooner do they work assiduously than they should kill the stress by burying themselves into the amidst practical commodities. This means that the appearance of consumer goods really satiates people’s desire and facilitates their lives amazingly.

On the other hand, behind these advantages, its disadvantages should be seen significantly. It is true that the ceaselessly increasing demand of goods often coincides with the damage of environment. Actually, companies have to expand their factories and accelerate the production process, which causes detrimental impacts such as the cruel depletion of natural resources. More importantly, the world are likely to turn out to be a huge garbage because of being fraught with tons of waste released into the atmosphere on a daily basis. Besides, since the quantity is enormous to satisfy the market’s need, the quality of goods might be taken for granted, which adversely affect customers’ benefits and gradually lose their trust.

In conclusion, the benefits in favor of encouraging people to buy more goods outnumber its drawbacks, however, government should take actions to guarantee the quality of goods.