Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, It is common that people are deploying technology for entertaining in their leisure time. In my opinion, even though there are certain benefits associated with using modern technology for recreational activities, the drawbacks from this trend would overshadow its merits.

It is thought that the deployment of technology and users' health deterioration have a close correlation. Firstly, excessive exposure to the screen of technical instruments is the precursor of eye-related illnesses. Likewise, game, which is a popular form of etertaining activities is believed to cause addiction among its users. This is especially the case for the young game players, who have the tendency to spend many hours a day playing games. In addition to this, if people keep their posture over long period for playing games, watching online movies, their spine are at greator risk of being damaged.

Another negative impact of using technological inventions for leisure activities is that it is the main culprit of sedentary lifestyle, which links directly to many mental and physical health issues among people. One of the drawbacks of the way of life is that people may feel socially-isolated, thereby being afraid to establish and maintain relationships with others, which in turn have negative impact on people's social lives. This lifestyle is also responsible for the lack of physical activities of people, which is the precursor of obesity.

Admittedly, utilization of technologycal equipment and software for entertainment offers their players and audience with various options, captivating design, and interesting functions. However, these features are aimed for remain users longer on these platforms, which in the long time exacurbates the effects on people's well-being.

In sum, many health problems can be attributable to the use of technology for entertaining purpose, albeit the activities provide people with certain merits related to users' experience. I believe that this phenomenon is a negative movement.