Nowadays, people get information through news and papers, but meanwhile are uncertain about the truth of these news. Should we believe the journalists? What qualities should a good journalist or correspondent have?

News and newspapers are an indispensable part of our everyday life because they keep us connected with the outside world. This essay shall discuss whether or not we should believe the journalists and also explain the characteristics of a good journalist.

We have to believe the journalists because they are our only source of information. But, we should take it all with a pinch of salt. Sometimes they may spread ill-founded news just to sell their papers. On the whole, they are doing great service to us. They are a link between the government and the people. They shape our opinions. They make us feel part of this global village by keeping us in touch with it and at times they even provide justice. For example, in the Jessica murder case, it was because of the effort of these journalists that a politician‘s son got punishment and Jessica‘s family got justice.

A good journalist should have many qualities. First of all, he should promote the truth and not rumours of ill founded news. Only authenticated news should be given. Secondly, he should be unbiased and not favour any group or political party. He should not hurt the sentiments of any particular community. This is very important in a pluralistic (multicultural and multi-religious) society like India. He should also have excellent communication skills.

Furthermore, a good journalist should be versatile – he has to cover varied fields such as sports, business, entertainment and politics. He should always be on his toes because you never know when the sky is going to fall. Finally, he should be bold and brave because he has to handle tough situations. For instance, during the 26th November terrorist attack at Mumbai, it was these journalists who brought us the first-hand news.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that we have to believe the journalists because they bring us the latest news and a good journalist should be a multifaceted personality.