Nowadays people have expectations to get things instantly (news, products, services) and don’t want to wait. Why? Positive or negative development?

Currently, there is a trend of people’s craving for immediate solutions to all of their concerns without delay, such as matters related to news, products or services. This phenomenon is contributed by various factors which mainly involve the technological impact on our daily lives and our modern lifestyle. Additionally, I personally take it as a detrimental way of living, specifically to our mentality.

Firstly, technological advancement is a key contributor worth noting as it fosters a culture of instant gratification. Due to the advent of smartphones, high-speed Internet and enormous amounts of data available, they have facilitated how we approach the outside world. We are able to access information, order food or use any services within a few taps. To be more specific, most of Vietnamese people, whenever they receive a quite long English text for their work or study, they will copy and paste the whole text into a convenient and advanced translating tool like Google Translate as a habit rather than spending time looking up and learning the new words for their future use. Besides, we are living more hectically than we did in the past because of the rise in basic living expenses such as rental or tuition fees as well as people’s self-targets. From there, we tend to spend more time focusing on our work which is synonymous with the limited waiting time for others. Therefore, the instant gratification mindset has been forming gradually and has become the norm in present society.

In terms of its impact, this lifestyle is wholly negative since it is costly and potentially deleterious to people’s minds. As mentioned earlier, for instant gratification, we surely must pay more than usual. Let us take a man doing a check-up at a hospital as an example. If he always desires immediate solutions regarding his problems, he will want to quickly proceed with the procedures. He has to use the advanced diagnostics service which is certainly more expensive than the basic one and that potentially uses up all of the money he has been working hard to earn. Eventually, he finds himself caught in a cycle. Moreover, the long-lasting effects on our health and mentality are the latent risks associated with this mindset. Contributing to the habit of Vietnamese mentioned above, this can be convenient and immediately solve their problems at that time but they will excessively rely on the technology. As a result, they are likely to be unable to be proficient in English as well as engage in a conversation or write an email without it.

In conclusion, having-anything-instantly-done expectations are gradually created by people’s restricted time availability and their reliance on technology. From my personal perspective, such mindset is completely detrimental, especially to their minds.