Nowadays, people make new friends through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good. Others believe that face-to-face interaction is essential.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a popularly held perception among many people that making new friends via social networks and internet chat groups is right. Others opine that face-to-face conversations are essential. While there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I am strongly inclined to the view that those face-to-face interactions are indeed crucial and better to protect isolated communities and personal safety.

On the one hand, befriending people through social networks or chat groups helps a person to get acquainted with the culture and norms of a foreign country. For instance, by using social networking platforms like Twitter or Facebook, many people have learned about different country's culture by talking to people from other countries. Moreover, chatting groups are becoming famous on the internet, people find a way to connect with each other through similar interests. In this way, a person's knowledge can be increased as they are being exposed to a different point of views.

On the other hand, by using face to face conversation, a person can prevent himself from a sedentary lifestyle and eye health. It will not only make the people healthy but also be useful for the communities which have nowadays become isolated due to social media networking sites. Furthermore, one point which I believe to be absolutely pivotal is the safety concerns when using the internet to make new friends. Countless cases have been reported where people on social media lie about their identity and cheat naive people by deceiving them to meet them in real life. According to a report of the CBN, numerous ingenious young girls have gone missing in the past 2 years because of meeting fake people on the internet.

In conclusion, I reaffirm my position that face-to-face interaction is fundamental. Even though making friends through social networks, and internet chat groups have some perks, communicating face-to-face is safer and hence, better.