Universities should accept an equal number of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree

University studies play a crucial role in every student's academics. While a few people opine that universities should allow similar proportions of boys and girls in all the courses, I cannot entirely agree with this notion because, if this concept is implemented, it would diminish the opportunities for talented students and also decrease the quality of education.

Firstly, the idea of choosing students merely based on gender during campus admissions is entirely illogical. In order to divide the limited seats to male and female applicants, authorities of the institution tend to overlook and disregard the merits and passion of the students who are crucial for the students' career. As a result, underserved and uninterested candidates are allowed to take the admission in the place of passionate students which eventually leads to poor overall academic performance.

Moreover, few professions are preferred and are apt for particular gendered individuals. For example, careers such as pilot, mechanical engineering are preferred more by male students, whereas nursing, dentistry is opted majorly by females. This does not mean any injustice or gender discrimination but is solely based on their dexterity. This pattern of studies encourages them to outperform in their academics because they choose their careers out of passion but not by choice.

To conclude, after analysing the hindrances of implementing the concept of allowing equal boys and girls in universities subjects, it is unwise to follow such a proposal as it might dilute the quality of education. Therefore, universities should focus on the passions, merits and skills of the students to encourage them and provide an adequate education.