Nowadays, people spend more and more time away from their family. Why? What effect will it have on themselves and their family?

The fast pace of modern life has witnessed a common tendency that youngsters spend less and less time together with their family. In this essay, I will further shed light on the root causes and possible consequences of this trend.

To begin with, the initiation of this phenomenon can be attributed to two main reasons. First and foremost, it is the high demanding society and competitive working environment that deter people from having time to gather with their beloved. As achievement in personal life and career is grownups’ uttermost importance, they devote the majority of their time for work. With heavy workload and longer working hours, it is impossible for these youngster to spare time for their family. Secondly, it is undeniable that a majority of young adults avoid family gathering time as they find it burdensome to cope with the disparity in mindset and living styles between different generations. Consequently, they show preference toward spending time alone rather than being with their parents.

This rising issues have fostered a variety of consequences for both offsprings and their parents. Considering grownups, there is no denying the fact that by having more time for work and themselves, their occupations and personal life can be better nourished and prospered in the long run. On the flip side, staying away from their parents would significantly have a negative influence on their mental health and family relationship. Not only the generation gap is widened but also the bond between family members would be weakened as time goes by. It is proved by scientist that grownups with more time together with their parents have considerably more achievements and success in life in comparison with those who do not.

All in all, there are two reasons that lead to the fact that young adults spend less time with their family and this tendency obviously bring numerous negative and positive influence on both side in the long term.