Today, a considerable amount of food bought from shops and restaurants tend to be thrown away irresponsibly. This phenomenon occurs due to a number of reasons and several feasible solutions should be adopted by businesses and individuals to improve the situation.

There are a variety of reasons why people waste food. One primary motive behind this is the development of agriculture. Thanks to the advancement in agricultural technologies, the production and distribution of food have more and more streamlined than ever. As a result, people are more likely to access food sources with inexpensive prices and purchase a large quantity of food which mainly causes waste. Moreover, it can be explained by the fact that consumers have not recognized the harmful implications of throwing away food. For example, many people don't have a habit of making a detailed plan when shopping which leads to wasting more money on buying more food products even if they are not actually consuming all of it so when that food is out of date or perishable, throwing it is inevitable.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to alleviate these problems. Firstly, the government should impose strict laws on waste food. For example, restaurants may charge extra money to people who order a lot of food dishes but cannot finish them so that they will make a thoughtful decision on what they eat. However, it is important to note that this phenomenon cannot decrease if people don’t raise awareness about food consumption. To this end, each individual should develop a habit of making lists of ingredients and foodstuff before going shopping so that they will not only save money but also don’t waste food products.

In conclusion, there are various factors leading to throwing away food and people”s awareness is a major reason. Hopefully, with some effective measures in regard impose heavy fines on wasting and making a detailed list before shopping, this bad phenomenon will decrease.