Nowadays some people think that public libraries are not necessary, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion and examples.

In the age of satellite dishes, all activities are gradually being automated and human beings are separating from orthodox and traditional tools. As such, some people avail themselves of the internet instead of public libraries. While few argue there is no need to public libraries, others are concerned that its elimination has negative ramifications. The aim of this essay is to explore two opposing viewpoints regarding whether the existence of libraries is necessary or is extra expenditure on the shoulder of government, and then render my own.

On one side of the argument there are people who put forward that public libraries play a crucial role in societies. To begin, a public library is often the heart and soul of a community as well as embodiment of progress of countries. To illustrate, nation library of the US, which is in the heart of Manhattan, now is turned to symbol of sturdy and robust science of America. On top of that they often host cultural event and communities activities. Therefore, they could not be ignored. Finally, it seems that its removal is tantamount to hurt on cultural heritage.

Nevertheless, with the advent of technology public libraries are becoming less popular amongst the populace. Firstly, books which are lent to persons become damaged and stained and they wear away over the time, leading to extra costs to replace them. For instance, the estimations reveal that more than 2.5 million dollars need to maintain, repair and substitution of second-hand books. Moreover, people can access to information on the internet just by a click and much faster than finding a book in libraries. Thus, paucity of their existence can help to government to spend their dedicated money to other sections.

I would therefore argue that even though I like the public libraries, but the price of their maintenance is exorbitant. All in all, I believe it is not plausible to get rid of them, but just their numbers should be reduced.