Nowadays, some universities offer graduate students skills that assist them to find employment, but some people believe that the main function of university should be to access knowledge for its sake. What is your opinion?

In modern society, people who have graduated from universities are usually offered to help them to seek a job by applying their skills. In contrast, some people think that the main purpose of those universities' actions is for their sake instead of students' knowledge.In my opinion, I prefer the first belief.

On the one hand, education plays an integral role in everyone's life. Because there is a switch from a manufacturing economy to a knowledge economy, the world values expertise and skills that individuals obtain. To be more precise, I believe that both soft and hard skills are prominent to any students to seek for any jobs at the moment because they need to apply those for their coming jobs. Current employers have a propensity to recruit candidates that can do various jobs within a single position, so graduate students need to gain knowledge to possess a collection of skills. Taking the Apple multinational chain for an example, recruiters tend to impress on any candidates who have a solid foundation to become all-rounded individuals when they are one of the employees to dedicate to Apple.

On the other hand, earning more money is one of the purposes in the education business. Therefore, they usually find a solution to boost their finances in numerous ways, and applying more skills for graduate students is one of those. Besides that, I consider that this does bring sake to not only the universities but also the graduate students, because it is challenging for anyone to look for educational institutions to teach those skills. According to the survey of the Amsterdam University in Holland, they found that the students in this school want to be taught skills instead of normal theories.

Overall, I believe that the universities still care about their sake but the qualities of graduate students’ output needs to be considered the most important in education. Obviously, there is still an opposite notion but it depends on everyone's view.