Nowadays, sport is becoming a big business with high earnings for professional sports people and a lot of companies have involved in financially and in other ways.

What are the advantages and disadvantages?

To date, it is a popular belief that sport has long been overwhelmingly commercialized which is relevant to many companies and the wealthier of top tier athletes. While it is beneficial to some extent, it would to more harm than good.

On the one hand, there is a discernable plus for this relationship which is the influence of money in morale of players. Indeed, it is financial incentives that are regarded as “miracle drug” to promote athlete motivation to dedicate their matches to achieve victory, which appeals spectators to stadium to accelerate revenue to them as well as their owners. In fact, the more money sport clubs have been invested, the more champion cup they have. For example, Manchester United football club, who is received annually over 3 hundred of dollar, has a tremendous of victories which are deemed as a landmark that take them into reaching a peak of this sport history.

On the other hand, it is public doubt about that financial benefit will erode the dignity of society as well as individuals because of two major reasons. Firstly, in the community perspective, authorities have long been concerning about money laundering situation in sport market, which can be detected by overassessing team or individual values. It hence abets business giants enriching illegally. Beside the benefit mentioned above, during the match, players can be bribed into adjusting their performance, followed by the outcome of the match which then is manipulated. As a result, it can be deduced that the unfair sports will discourage the morale of players, leading to diminishing interest of bystanders.

In conclusion, while advantages gained by financial incentives are remarkable, there are also several social problems involved in match fixing incidents and illegal business.