The best way to resolve the international environmental problems is to increase

the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that fossil energy is more and more being used out of control in a wide variety of fields over the world, leading to concern about detrimental environmental issues. While I agree that increasing fuel prices will handle these problems well to some extent, I opine that some drawbacks are also discernable.

To begin with, carbon-based power is the major cause of the increase of average global temperature because of the stunning acceleration of vehicles bearing internal combustion engine. Hence, raising the cost of this energy type is likely to contribute to posing the attention of people in saving their budget by carpooling, or even switching to public transports instead of personal vehicles. In turn, this policy also tackles the traffic collisions partially attributed to the high density of car traveling. As a result, it demands scientists coming up with ideas for improving renewable energies, leading to achieving sustainable development.

On the other hand, it is a negative influence on the logistic system which is an economical backbone of nation. Transport expense growth, which is directly proportional to oil price, is followed by that of other commodities, even though residents’ wage is maintained, leading to an imbalance between income and expenditure. It, in turn, reduces their living standard and quality of merchandise. Admittedly, these concerns can be curbed by imposing prices onto some specific goods in order to diminish unintentional disparity. However, intervening to the market is unsustainable, which then causes inconceivable consequence that we have to avoid.

In conclusion, it is deemed as a dilemma when we consider adjustment of energy prices, the authorities should deliberate benefit over harm before reaching the final decision.