Nowadays, there are a lot of teenagers who have part time of while still studying. Do you think this is a good idea?

In the past few decades, there has been an upsurge in the increasingly number of teenagers who have a part time job after school, which have become one of the most arguable for both students and their parents. From my perspective, I totally disagree that this trend can have more advantages than drawbacks.

At the outset, working part time while being an adolescent will not bring any long term benefits for the development of students. It is widely known that students are often taken on to do some manual wok which requires little or no education. These jobs are highly unlikely to teach them valuable skills leading for any of career advancement. Besides, a lot of companies which can equip youngsters with useful skills and experience tend to choose university students in preference to high school ones. As a result, these tedious jobs are incapable of making any contribution to their development heading for a professional career.

Furthermore, taking part in doing part time jobs is expected to exert a negative impact on teenagers in all aspects of their life. Initially, going through a really tough schedule everyday with a lot of tasks to finish will not only do harm to their health by causing fatigue and exhaustion but also lead to poor academic result owing to the lack of time management. Furthermore, deciding to work while studying may dispose them to embark on the mistaken path. In all likelihood, they will be deeply instilled some bad thoughts due to the dark aspects of working life, and associate with the wrong people. In addition to that, not possessing the capacity of finance management, they will squander money on the wrong purpose and their misdeeds.

Last but not least, not only working can have adverse influence on students themselves but also affects the development of the society. It is believed that this trend can increase the rate of unemployment among adults. On the grounds that there is no minimum wage for workers under 16 in many countries, it can easily be seen that students are always paid less. Therefore, employers are more inclined to hire youngsters to work part time, which is a factor making the unemployment rate get worse as well as the gap between social classes bigger.

To my view, I strongly believe that adolescents should not be encouraged to work while still studyin