Nowadays, traffic is a serious problem in big cities. Why this is so and what effects does it bring?

The automobile industry has contributed immensely in increasing number of vehicles on the road; however, it has also given rise to some issues such as traffic congestion which has become alarming. This essay will discuss some reasons why this has occurred and examine the consequences of this worrying trend before concluding.

One of the predominant factors in the growth of traffic in cities is the availability of loans. To elaborate more, financial institutions provide vehicle loans at a cheaper rate of interest even to a low-income group. This facility has instigated people to buy vehicles for various purposes as it is quite affordable. Inefficient public transport is another factor which has augmented traffic in cities. To explain it further, in some cities the public transport system is not well-organized. Frequency of public transport is so less that it has forced people to commute on their vehicle.

However, there are some negative impacts of this growing concern which cannot be neglected. The first impact is it has increased air pollution. The emission of gases from vehicles has deteriorated the air quality to such an extent that it has adversely affected the health of people. The trend has been observed in the number of cases related to respiratory problems. The second impact is the loss of jobs. Delays result to the late arrival of employees at the workplace which has compelled employers to show pink slips. Proximity as a condition before hiring is been noticed.

In conclusion, although rising traffic is an inescapable condition in growing and large cities, it can be brought under control by imposing stringent conditions on granting loans and organizing public transport.