Nowadays, versions of history taught at some countries are designed to promote national's pride and downplaying or erasing negative events. do you agree or disagree and why?

History has long been always regarded as one of the most crucial part of the school curriculum. And different countries have their own styles of teaching history so that it can have positive impact on the young generation. In my experience, whereas I think promoting national pride should play a part, I disagree that versions of history need to reduce student’s exposure to historic negative events.

To commence with, it is undeniable that history is taught at every school with the aim of stimulating national pride. Children and adolescents are required to gain deeper understanding about all the feats as well as the national characteristics of the previous generation which play the key role in building today’s world. This can make them instill into their mind their national identity and be a motive for them to contrive to preserve the nation’s cultures and make great contribution to their country. Therefore, their national pride is the main determinate spurring on the socio – economic development of each nation and enhancing their country’s position in the world stage. In addition to that, fostering national pride in youngsters is highly likely to diminish the possibility of their involvement in some reactionary organizations and being recruited by terrorism.

Nevertheless, I believe it is essential for students have the chances to learn about the dark aspects in the development of humankind. Broadening their horizons about these negative events in distinct perspectives will be an impetus for their reasoning and critical skills. In all likelihood, they will be adept at processing and evaluating information. Apart from that, each historical event has different lessons which can be a valuable source of learning for thousands years. This will shed light on the young’s mind and help them to avoid terrible mistakes.

To sum up, I think it is crucial for students to be promoted national pride as well as acknowledge about all features of history.