Nowadays young people are admiring media and sports stars, even though they do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Admiring media and sports stars, even though they do not set a good example is an increasingly popular among young people. In my opinion, I believe that this is an overall negative trend.

Having great admiration for well-known athletes and entertainers might have positive effects on teenagers. First of all, the talents and achievements of media and sport idols could inspire young people to develop their potential abilities. For example, my brother is a big fan of Michael Phelps, so that he practices swimming everyday and has achieved a lot of gold medals at his school. Secondly, youngsters who take part in fan clubs of their idols could be provided with more opportunities to make friends with like-minded people. As a result, they would have a rich social life.

On the other hand, idolising celebrities who are not excellent role models could result in negative effects. One reason for this view is that young adults tend to spend a lot of time following what their idols do or where they would go. This may distract them from studying at school and they could a bad academic results. Furthermore, young adults who are not mature enough to judge what is suitable and proper within society , they may copy their idols’ bad behaviors such as smoking, drinking alcohol or even drugs, resulting in spoil young people’s health and future life.

In conclusion, although supporters can be inspired by the talents of sport and media stars, their bad behaviors could exercise bad influences on the youth. Therefore, I certainly hold the view that it is a negative trend.