Nowadays young people lack an understanding of how to manage their finances after they finish high school. Explain why they do not know how to manage money and how this can be changed

In todays world, managing finances plays one of the most pivotal roles in every aspect of life. However, it is often observed that the younger generation has no clear idea of managing their finances after secondary education completion. There are specific reasons for escalating this trend and the various imperative implications should be applied to curb it.

The principal reason for this issue is the lack of any financial responsibility of youth, mainly because of parental presence, who are providing their financial support. As a result, the youth generation is likely to be skipped this vital step in their school life, leading them to remain unaware of core financial skills such as saving, investing, basic banking, and so on. The second most important reason behind this is the absence of introductory financial courses such as opening a bank account or managing self-finance in the school curriculum. Because of that, the student will have little chance to learn such essential qualities from school and apply them in the next phase of adult life, where those skills have tremendous practical usage. An empirical study conducted in China reflected the same notion. The survey shows that only 16 % of schools have introductory financial courses in their syllabus.

When dealing with the first reason, an effective way to work it out would be to initiate a fundamental understanding of financial matters from home. What I mean is that youngsters should be taught those basic skills, including managing, investing, and updating finance, from their parents, making them familiar with money matters, which plays the most crucial role in adult life. In reaction to the second reason is introducing a preparatory course on finance and banking management in the school syllabus, where the student will learn that basic knowledge officially, allowing them to understand the actual value of money that it needs to be earned and managing it is vital. In Poland, the foundation course on financial management must be known by every student in school.

In conclusion, knowing how to manage financial matters is truly important for young people where parents and school can play a pivotal role in helping them to understand the meaning of it and how to work it properly.