Nowadays, young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that may have negative effects on the young people and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present age, the young is excessively allocating their time for going shopping. It is argued that this tendency may exert undesirable impacts on the young and the society. In my opinion, I partially agree with the statement for some following reasons.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why shopping too much is detrimental. To begin with, shopaholics may not have enough money to spend on critical investments. This can be explained by the fact that the emergence of new products may increase people’s desire to purchase and consume more and more. Consequently, individuals cannot have enough money for other necessities like healthcare or education. In addition, shopping too much is really a waste of time. Not only allocating too much time for wandering around shopping malls can prevent young people from participating in outdoor activities but this also can lead to low performance at work or school.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that people paying regular visits to shopping malls brings some advantages. First of all, this tendency may boost the economic growth of a nation. This is understandable because the more products are sold , the more profit the producers can earn . As a result, the government may have a huge source of taxes used for poverty alleviation, illiteracy eradication and the fights against natural disasters. Secondly, shopping is a great way of relaxation and satisfaction. For example, purchasing some fashion items of luxury brands or technological devices can be the best way for some people to release the pressure and tension.

In conclusion, while I admit that young generations are excessively allocating their time for shopping , I still believe that shopping also reflect upon some benefits on individuals and the society.