Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

In recent years, people tend to be have children when they are getting older. In my essay, some explanations for this social trend will be put forward, before an analysis of its impacts on the society and the family is given.

The tendency of women postponing their first childbirth later in their life could be attributed to several factors. One reason is that more and more women have prioritized the career over marital arrangements and children. Giving births at the early age may prevent them from standing a higher chance of promotion and fame as it seems to be difficult for them to assimilate into an over-changing work environment after the maternity leave. Another reason is that old parents are more likely to raise their children better. The years of ups and downs in life have equipped them with more knowledge, experience, and skills in order to take good care of their kids. In addition, the solid economic background could be a reason as to why parents in the modern society are willing to have children latter.

On the other hand, I strongly convinced that the drawbacks of postponing the pregnancy outweigh the advantages. Firstly, scientific have shown that women getting pregnant after 35 years old are more likely to suffer potential health risks such as miscarriage or newborn babies might be at the great risk of having Down’s syndrome. Secondly, detrimental effect of late pregnancy is the ageing of population. As the matter of fact that, in Japan, the number of elderly people increase significantly while the figure for newborn babies is little in the recent years. As result, this tendency will be able to affect the quality of future workforce as well as the generation gap between the two distant generations.

In conclusion, there are a number of reasons why more and more people decide to have kids later in their life. I strongly believe that this trend contains a lot of negative effects to individual families and society.