Nowdays people throw away old things and adapt new things. Do the disadvantages of thrwaway society outweigh any possible economic advatages?

One of the most controversial issue today relates to throwing away old things and adapting new things. Mordern culture is a consumerist one, it is also known as disposable culture or use and throw culture. It is true that people have a tendency to discard their old and damaged possesion these days when they own something new.

On one side of arguement there are people who argue that the benefits considerably outweighs its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that abandoning used items and consuming new items demand for more increase use of machinery creating more pollution and waste electricity gas etcetera. Example for the production of new products advanced machinery is needed which not only creates pollution but is also major cause of deforestation and destruction of natural resourses. A recent research states that canada and U.S.A. contains only 52 percent of the world population till yet are accountable for 31.5 percent of consumption . While South Asia which had 22.4 percent of population is responsiblefor only 2 percent of consumption.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that infact by adapting new things society moves forward and can invent products that will help in many ways example; now days cars are manufactured with air sacs which help them to save their life, advancement in biotechnology also helped to cure many diseases.

As we have seen that there are number of answers to this question. On balance however, i tend to believe selective measure such as "3R's" that is ( reuse, recycle, reduce) should be used. The possibilities are endless a person just have to take the initiative and make the change.