As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on the road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the user should pay for the cost. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One very complex issue in today's world is the funding of the road network. While many tend to see it as the government's duty, I also believe that there is also a case for saying that the government and the car drivers should be jointly responsible for the cost.

On the one hand, there is a contention in some circles that infrastructure development should be paid by the state. Primarily, proponents of state funding cite that it is the government who needs to be in charge of covering the cost as residents already pay money to these road developing projects through the national tax systems. From the macro perspective, constructing a large-scale road network acts as a precursor to the economic expansion of a region and therefore, the government should invest in such massive projects to boost the GDP growth. This is particularly valid in Viet Nam, as the construction of the extensive highway network connecting Sai Gon and western provinces is instrumental in accelerating the economic progress in Mekong Delta region.

In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that car drivers should make a greater contribution to the highway construction and maintenance. At the outset, it is universally accepted that the number of road users is very large compared to the taxpayers, especially in countries with the high volume of traffic. Individual's over-exploitation of the road system will, in fact, add a higher tax burden on workers and can eventually stifle economic growth. These painful lessons, shown by nations such as Vietnam and China, seem to demonstrate complete sponsor by the government is economically unsustainable. A further issue relates to globalization, characterized by the expansion of free movement among countries. If this means that the taxpayers (belong to) of one nation are now obliged to bear the full cost of building roads while users from other countries also benefit from the resources without contributing their fair share, this is surely a further significant factor which clearly makes state-sponsored road projects impractical.

From the issues outlined above, one can conclude that even though government subsidies are necessary to develop road system, other methods need to be supplemented, such as private organizations due to costs and globalization.