As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the user should cover the costs. Discuss and give your opinion.

The rising popularity of automobiles has contributed to an urgent demand of investments in transport infrastructure. While many people believe that this expenditure should be covered by the authority, I am in favor of the idea that it should be charged by travelers.

On the one hand, the government is thought to be responsible for road investments because of several reasons. Firstly, as an administrative organ maintaining domestic tranquility, it is acceptable to hold the authority accountable for assuring citizen’s safety status. Therefore, road safety measures such as installing speed cameras or appointing traffic wardens, which make it possible to supervise residents’ adherence to traffic law and, thus, alleviate risks of accidents, must be implemented by the government. Furthermore, providing funding for transport infrastructure, states can also promote economic growth. Indeed, if a more flexible and modern road system is established, companies will be able to speed up their journey time, which results in a lower fixed cost and a higher profit thanks to shorter transport duration.

On the other hand, it seems to me that the idea of charging travelers for road-upgrading costs is more reasonable. Specifically, there has been a consensus that people directly taking advantage of a transport system cannot ask others to tackle its depreciation and inconvenience. Hence, drivers, who spend many hours on these roads every day, must shoulder this responsibility. Additionally, it is expected that the expense will make their car utilizations reduce, as we see when the government raised petrol price or offered congestion charge in Bangkok or Jakarta. As a result, this helps them ease traffic flow, as well as trigger many heated traffic issues, like rush hour traffic jam.

Briefly, although government assistance is recommended, I still believe that expenses for road improvement must be handled by users.