In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving the existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

Nowadays, it is argued that a large amount of money is necessarily spent ion building new interregional train lines instead of on developing the old public transport. While I accept that there are persuasive arguments in favor of the former, I believe the latter could be advantageous to some extent.

On the one hand, first and foremost, developing the old existing transport system could be an essential method to save money in developing countries. With their completion at hand, the only job left would only be the upgrade to a new level of safety or decoration, which might not take that large amount of money compared to building a whole new system. Second, it could play an important role in conserving the environment. In many countries, due to their land shortage, the government have to resort to a vast area of forests to be cleared in order to make room for modern railways. This, in turn, could have an adverse effect as it decreases the diversity in their biological system.

On the other hand, constructing new railways could also be beneficial to some extent. With the development of modern technology, new railways could significantly become faster and more modern. This would not only save the people a lot of time transferring from one mode of transport to another, but also money in purchasing one ticket instead of many. Moreover, gas emission would have to be taken into account in this matter. As the existing transport system might be degrading over many years of utilizing, the gas emission rate would be unbearable, while the new railway system with their green engines could be a piece in the critical solution to the universal problem of global warming.

By and large, while I support the fact that constructing a new railway system connecting cities could have some undoubted advantages, I believe that upgrading the existing public transportation would still have its perks.