In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

these days many nations spend a large amount of money on building new railway lines for high-speed trains between urban areas. According to some, this might be a valuable investment, as people will be able to save time and the country will benefit economically. And there may be some merit in this view. Yet, in what follows it will be argued that the government ought to allocate more money for existing public transport, since the majority of the people use it and it will cost less.

Currently, public transport needs more funding, as most of the population prefer to travel by public transportation. using buses and underground is considered to be safer and less expensive. Moreover, improving existing transportation will take fewer resources. For instance, in order to have better public bus facilities, the authorities only need to add several advanced buses and make some changes in the timetable. Thus, paying more attention to public transport services is essential, as it plays a significant role in people’s daily routine and can be done at a reasonable price.

On the other hand, some say that it is crucial that the expenditure spent on fast trains should greatly increase, as it will be time-saving for people. Nowadays, it is hard to deny the value of time, and traveling from one city to another can be extremely time-consuming. another positive aspect of high-speed transport can be seen in the sphere of economy, since the trade between various places will tend to rise. Therefore, more goods will be both imported and exported by these fast trains.

In conclusion, it was shown that spending more finances on public transport facilities will be beneficial for most of the people and will demand less expanses. Though some may argue that constructing new railroads should also be taken into consideration for time-saving and economic purposes, still, the advantages of developing public transportation outweigh it.