When designing a building, the intended use of the building should be taken in into account as important rather than the outward appearance?

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Modern designers tend to emphasize the exterior of a building without taking the purpose of the building into consideration. According to some, this is the best approach, since the outer appearance of a construction plays a crucial role in impressing people. And there might be some merit in this view. Yet, in what follows it will be argued that the the design of a building should be based on its further use.

When designing a building, convenience must be prioritized over the external appearance, as it is the main thing that attracts the customers. By arranging each detail regarding the intended use of the construction in order to make the building more comfortable, the designers can please their clients. Many studies have shown that in the long run, the customers value any accommodation, that is tended to ease their daily life.

Another argument in favor of giving privilege to the interior of a building is that each building is used for a different intention. The construction of a building can be made suitable for its special purpose if the designer has a clear understanding of it. For instance, constructions aimed to be used for educational purposes require certain criterias such as the size of the rooms, the stairs, and etc. Thus, it is essential that the tended purpose of a building should be taken into account.

In conclusion, it was demonstrated that while being in charge of planning a building, the designer should keep in mind that the construction firstly needs to be comfortable and appropriate for its use. Though some people believe that the outward appearance of a building is more important, still, in my opinion, the building should be suitable for its use.