The number of old people is increasing in many countries. Some people think this cause problems whilst other people think that old people have an important role to play

how far do you agree or disagree?

The rocketing advancement in medical science enables people to live longer that is the reason why the population of senior citizens are increasing in fewer countries. Some individuals are of the perspective that this might create trouble for society, others think that they are important as they have a crucial role to play. I agree with the latter view as having older people in our society has more benefit. However, it has also drawbacks too.

To commence with, the older people in the family is like the backbone of our body. In other words, they have a responsibility to shape society by using their experience of life. They can be a guide to the society in any situation moreover they can support the family by being the guide of the family. For instance, the family with a senior member inside, are less likely to get collapse in financial crises, according to the Times of India survey.

Moreover, in most of the houses, the responsibility of upbringing the children is upon the old people of families. They can teach their grandchildren effectively by giving them good values a well as the way by which they can live without having a trouble because elderly people have more experience of life. Also, a survey conducted among people of megacities indicates that children who grown up with their grandparents are less likely to get addicted to cigarettes and alcohol.

However, there are some issues involved with an increment of older people in society. The one common reason is that the majority of old people are non-working. This means they do not contribute to economies and even the government has to pay them back for expenses of their life. For example, Australia pays the total of 30% of its resources to the elderly people. So it can be stated that the increment in the number of elderly people may harm the economies.

In recapitulation, despite the adverse effect of having elderly people on economies, I strongly believe that senior citizens have a more crucial role to shape society as well as up bringing their grandchildren effectively.