The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What are the reasons for the growth of overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved?

There is a growing trend towards more people contracting serious life-threatening medical issues as a result of obesity. In this essay, I would first closely examine the reasons before suggesting a viable solution to this negative trend.

The reality that more people are getting overweight can be ascribed to two primary reasons: a surge in fast food consumption and sedentary lifestyles led by many. As for the former, junk food has been proven to be high in cholesterol and addictive, which is detrimental to human’s body. Due to its appealing packaging and scrumptious flavor, these foods tend to be consumed on a grand scale, leading me to believe that fast food consumption is one of the chief causes behind an increase in obesity. In addition to harmful food consumption, lifestyles lacking physical exercises is another factor resulting in higher obesity rates. Significantly more people dedicate themselves to pursuing their enormous goal in life, potentially neglecting the quality time spent on physical activities such as yoga, karate, walking, among others. This, as a result, may contribute to the rise in more overweight people.

After exploring two chief rationales behind a rise in obesity rates, I would suggest a feasible approach to tackling this situation, chief of which are heightened public awareness. The onus should be on the government to mount more health-related campaigns, conveying helpful information as to the detriment of increasing fast food consumption and people’s modern inactive lifestyles. By doing so, some people may be more aware of what healthy habits are, thereby somewhat minimizing the chances of being obese.

In conclusion, I believe that there are two primary reasons attributed to higher obesity rates, including large amounts of consumed fast food and passive ways of living. Moreover, a viable solution to address these problems could be the government’s duty to mount more health campaigns.