Some people say that young people can learn useful skills by playing electronic and computer games. Others say that young people who play electronic and computer games are wasting their time. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

Opinions are divergent on whether indulging oneself in video games is positive or negative. While some fervently advocate the idea of acquiring helpful skills from them, others hold the opposite view that it is a full waste of time to play such games. This essay will first closely discuss both viewpoints before showing my final thought.

Proponents of learning useful skills from games may argue that games, based on reality simulation, often provide players with practical solutions to various real-world situations. For example, Raft, a survival game depicting the life of a man on the ocean, can help people learn how to find food, to stop bleeding by using bandages, and to protect themselves from dangers. This is a testament to how useful skills learnt from games can be in a world fraught with peril. Another point worth mentioning is the development of a sense of cooperation and communication capability. Games incentivize people to closely collaborate, communicate, and strategize with teammates to defeat the enemies, thereby fostering these skills.

However, detractors extol the idea that playing games is time-consuming. Games can be, they say, an attractive recreational creation, drawing a huge amount of time from people. Players may spend hours and hours on end playing, as they desire revenge for previous lost gameplays. This, as a consequent, squanders the intent time budget on immersing themselves in the world of 3D animation. Moreover, each game often requires hours to finish, irrespective of the process of trial and error. It is no longer difficult to see the reality in which young people glued their eyes firmly to the phone screen to play games. This can take them even a whole day to complete, rendering playing games waste-of-time.

While both viewpoints are valid to some extent, balancing between games and real life is important. Although games can indeed be a vehicle for skill learning and relaxation, it is important to restrict the amount of time spent on these electrical games not to waste any meaningful moment.