Scientists believe that computers will become more intelligent than human beings. Some people find it is positive while others think it is a negative development. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Scientists predict that computers will be more superior compared to human’s intelligence, raising the question of whether it is positive or negative. This essay first closely examines both viewpoints before concluding that I agree with its positivity.

On the one hand, it is understandable why advocates of the superiority of artificial intelligence deem it as advantageous. In light of its power over humans, countless tasks have been performed completely by robots without engendering many errors, thereby bolstering the economy owing to higher working productivity. For instance, jobs associated with assembly, manufacturing, or packaging are now taken over mostly by robots, yielding certain benefits as to economic growth. This serves as a testament to how powerful AI can be in our interconnected world.

Opponents, on the other hand, may argue that workforce incentivizing robots’ roles would come at the expense of higher unemployment rate. It is clear that the more jobs computers take over, the more likely these previously-performed-by-human jobs will be dominated by virtual intelligence, leading to more unemployed workforce. Nevertheless, it is important to note that robots just can perform repetitive jobs and can hardly replicate ones that demand human qualities such as doctor or teacher. Apparently, robots cannot act as a therapist, whose jobs require empathy and understanding among people, as they, by their nature, do not possess any human traits needed for these tasks.

In conclusion, I believe that if managed appropriately and utilized, robots will become powerful tools that can boost the economy, given the improved productivity it offers.