A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at an institution or organisation as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement?

Nowadays, majority of university programs state that their students should work during the studies in order to fulfill the requirements of the program. This trend has both, advantages and drawbacks.

Firstly, university gives only a theoretical knowledge and only about 50% of it will be used while you work. Working as an intern during the studies is useful due to some reasons. The main one is that you can apply all theories you have learned. What is more, you can gain practical skills, which are highly needed if you want to get a good job. In some cases, your colleagues from your part-time job can help you in future, for instance, by offering a full-time employment. Moreover, unpaid job may help you to understand, if you are suitable for this kind of job or not.

Turning to the other side, some downsides may be noticed. Students often say that student years are always stressful and painful. Students are burdened with a huge list of homework, coursework and different projects, thus any type of job can hinder students both physical and mental development. Also, a lot of employers set strict rules when it comes to working schedule. A lot of students overwork during the week and even work at weekends, so that work-life balance is not followed and it may cause different problems, not only at university but in personal life too.

As can be concluded, there are both benefits and downsides of working during the studies, however, I think that downsides outweigh all advantages.