One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think advantages of this development overweigh the disadvantages ?

It is indeed true that research in medical science at its peak and many research programs have been carried out to improve life expectancy of human. Proponents declare that it has many advantages while critics argue that it has many disadvantages. After a close scrutiny, I personally agree that advancement in Medicine science has many merits compared to its downfalls.

To begin with, one of the major disadvantage of this improvement in medical sector is increasing population. World population is increasing because of the reason that we have cure of many life taking disease for example Cancer, TB and Polio. Increasing population requires more resources to fulfill need of individual which at present we do not have, and that cause economical and social imbalance. In a report presented by New York University, Standard of Living decreased because of humongous population rise over the period in U.S.

Secondly, If average life span of people increase then we have more elderly people around us who can guide us, teach us by experiance and knowledge that they have. moreover, Economy of nation get benefitted. if nation have more skilled; productive and experianced citizen, all they can contribute their part of life to nation, that cause GDP growth which inturn helps to improve balance sheet of the country. In India where life expectancy is about 65 years, High compared to China who has 50 years of life expectancy, has more GDP growth compared to China.

In conclusion, considering positive and negative facets of this matter, it is apparent that advantages overweighs downfalls.