One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The development of medical care enables people to live longer. I believe this is more advantageous than disadvantageous.

Admittedly, longer life expectancy leads to more spending for the elderly. Governments must expend larger funds for pension and insurance for them for each additional year they live after retiring. In addition, their family need to spend more time visiting them and face additional financial burdens to take care of them in the case they are hospitalised.

However, along with the increase in people’s average age, older people work for a longer time. In the past, my country allowed people to retire at the age of 60, but the retirement age has been extended to 68. In Japan, the elderly commonly works a full time or part time job such as taxi drivers and business owners, not relying on their pension to make a living. As a result, the growing number of senior citizens in effect contributes more tax to countries’ budgets.

In addition, extended longevity is not only the fortune for the elderly but also their families. Old people can have more time to follow their passions or just simply do their pastimes to savour the rest of their life without the concern of making a living. Moreover, to many people, senior family members are the source of wisdom for their daily issues. For example, grandparents can give useful pieces of advice on how to rear children properly without spoiling them.

In short, human’s longer lifespan has more positive effects than negatives ones. Although our society needs to spend more resources to take care of old people, they contribute more to our society in terms of finance. Besides, living longer improves the elderly’s well-being and enables them to support their families as senior advisors.