Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’.

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Some people hold that the rapid increase in car ownership in the last 30 years has caused severe traffic jams in urban areas in many countries. This essay will find out whether this is true or not and suggest a solution to reduce the usage of private cars.

In fact, the rise in the number of automobiles is not the only cause for traffic jams in many cities. In my city, the average time of commuting between offices and homes has almost doubled compared to 10 years ago while the number of private cars has spiked. However, this traffic problem also results from other causes such as the lack of alternatives to private cars. For example, only 20% of traveling inside my city is met by other transportation methods.

Therefore, the first possible solution may be to improve public transportation. For instance, governments can increase the number of public buses or underground railway systems. If they are cheap and convenient, citizens can be more willing to use them. Besides, working from home, which has proved possible since the outbreak of the covid-19 pandemic, can also reduce workers’ need to own a car. As a result, they can meet other everyday needs, such as entertainment and shopping, just by walking or riding bikes to the locations near their houses.

In short, the traffic jams result from various causes and the increase in car ownership is just one of them. To persuade people to reduce their use of private cars, governments are responsible for providing enough public vehicles and persuading employers to accept workers working from home.