One of the consequences of improved medical care is that the people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Elevation in technology has not only attributed to scientific discoveries but also created a hand-in-hand impact in the field of medicine. This century is well blessed with comprehensive medical care and the lifespan of people has enhanced through the modern medicines and treatments. I believe the result has enlightened the human civilisation and the disadvantages of increasing life expectancy are ignorable.

Nowadays people are more health conscious with diet restrictions, daily workouts and routine checkups. Ultra modern facilities and advanced medicines have transformed the situation and cured many deadly diseases. With improved lifespan, people contribute more to the society. Early retirement plans let them start another profession as they are more active these days. For instance, many professionals these days start their own business after their retirement. This trend welcome freshers to have jobs and eradicate unemployment.

As a direct result of improved life-expectancy, people can spend more time with their family and grandchildren. Working parents can leave their children on a safe hand while at work. The way grandparents care for their grandchildren is incomparable to the attention they would receive from a daycare center. From this regards, we need our forefathers to be with us than ever before.

The way many see the elder generation as a responsibility to the society is no longer true. These elder people can share their experience that we can use to build a better and safer world. Older politicians, bankers, writers and researchers have far more to offer than young ones.

Improved lifespan profoundly benefits the family as well the society. We should feel obliged to treat our ancestors as they did for us. They are no longer a burden, but assets for the country.