Online classes make conventional classrooms unnecessary. To what extent do you agree/disagree

The virtual classroom is beginning to rival physical classroom as the best place to study. I believe that this trend will continue, and the the traditional classroom model will soon be just replaced by e-learning.

On the one hand, learning on the Internet is superior to learning in a classroom in many ways. Online classes will help learners overcome time constrants and geographical boundaries, which is particular helpful for people in rural and remotes areas. Furthermore, everyday millions of students are taken to school by motorbikes or cars, which emit a large amount of gas emision in the environment. However, the advent of online courses can solve this problem and protect the environment.

On the other hand, it will have many difficulties if traditional classroom is replaced by virtual classroom. To begin with, some disciplines have to be taught face to face because of its complication. For example, chemistry and physics involving elaborate lab set-up and equipment are impossible to learn in the comfort of student’s own home. Therefore, physical interaction will help students acknowledge about these subjects. In addition, student can not have live discussion when they learn online, although nowadays people can use many web-based class such as Zoom or Google Meet and teachers can divide room for student to discuss together online. However, it will not be as effective as a physical classroom. Many students can take advantage of virtual learning to do do personal work such as playing games or sleeping. Moreover, they can easily distract by many external influencing elements like the noise from vehicle or their family. As a result, pupils can easily get bad marks during e-learning.

In conclusion, I disagree with the view that online classes are superior to conventional learning in severals aspects, and I believe that the latter is by no means expendable.