The increase in vehicular numbers on road has become a menace nowadays as it is paving a way for more and more accidents. It is argued that the most significant way to make roads more safer to drive on, is to impose more stringent rules and punishments. In my opinion, though it can help us on a short term basis but for long term results we have to introduce some additional steps in form of education and awareness.

Policy makers believe that these harsher penalities in form of huge fines/and even imprisonment will help to improve the road safety, by creating fear in drivers' mind to check his erratic driving behaviour. This negative reinforcement technique is not going to check this problem permanently as these drivers will tend to obey traffic rules only when they are being watched or they are traversing roads having speed trekkers.

On the other hand, to improve the safety on roads, we should introduce chapter on traffic rules at the primary and secondary level of education curriculum to make naive minds more aware and conscious about this. This will in return incultivate these good points in them and when these children will start driving, they will be a much more responsible drivers. Secondly, awareness programme or courses should be conducted at different levels such as public gathering, official meetings or offices and at recreation centres. These methods will lead to permanent positive reinforcement in one's behaviour

In conclusion, penalising the drivers by harsher punishments and hefty fines for their conduct of disobeying the traffic rules can lead to short term benefits but for long lasting results people has to be educated at amateur level and road safety awareness programme should be adopted.