The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about how to make our roads safer. Personally, I disagree with the view that imposing stricter punishments is the only way to improve road safety because there is a range of other measures which could be used together to do this effectively.

Stricter punishments can certainly deter drivers from driving dangerously on the roads. Penalties for driving offenders can act as a deterrent, so that many drivers will think twice about avoiding traffic offenses. There have been numerous road accidents which are the inevitable consequences of carelessness or dangerously, for example using a mobile phone while driving a car or driving while intoxicated. Various types of driving penalties such as heavy fines, the confiscation of driving licenses or even a prison sentence should be adopted with dangerous drivers. These harsh punishments can make drivers follow the road rules and drive more carefully.

Nevertheless, I believe that the use of alternative measures by national and local authorities could promote driving safety. Firstly, it is essential to educate people properly before they start to drive. This could be done in schools or in more difficult driving tests to ensure drivers to be aware of implementing the letter of the law strictly. Secondly, many governments around the world have succeeded in using traffic calming measures such as speed bumps, road bends, speed cameras to cut the number of accidents, especially in built-up areas. Finally, governments or local councils could invest more in better public transport, which would mean that fewer people would need to work or travel by their private vehicles.

In conclusion, it its not enough to improve road safety by punishing more harshly driving offenders. I believe that other road safety measures should also be introduced and used effectively.