Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

People have different views about the role of online information and the traditional libraries in students’ studying. While I agree with the view that accessing online sources of information has become more easily than in the past, I would argue that the libraries would not be replaced.

Admittedly, accessing information online has several clear benefits. The Internet is an endless source of information which can supply almost any aspect of studying. For example, modern technologies such as mobile phones or laptops have functions that enable students to search for the most effective studying methods which help enlarge their knowledge quickly, from social subjects to science ones, higher-education and detailed syllabus. In addition, online study allows students set their own study time. This might be explained by the fact that while most libraries can only be visited during several hours per day, online study offers students greater flexibility and enable them to creat a timetable in line with their needs and characteristics. Therefore, it is likely that they communicate with teachers and other students more easily than ever thanks to the proliferation of the Internet.

However, the traditional libraries is important considering its effect on studying. Firstly, the physical libraries offer public buildings where teachers and students can have face-to-face interactions. By meeting together, exchanging knowledge and discussing assignments with teachers and other students, they can generate ideas in doing research and avoid misunderstanding. Secondly, libraries are dedicated space for studying in which students are able to escape the distractions which caused by Facebook notifications or entertainment websites while searching materials on the Internet. This would help them increase their concentration to finish their work with greater productivity.

In conclusion, although I accept that accessing information online brings advantages in several ways, I believe that improving and investing more in the traditional libraries is of great educational value.