The only way to improve the safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments on driving offences. To what extent do you agree with this idea?

Misfortunes that happen on the roads have been of major concern to all in society. Many have put forward the idea of cracking down on road misdemeanors by means of heavier penalties. Notwithstanding its merits, there are other alternatives that have proved to be as effective.

On the one hand, prohibitive fines would serve as deterrents for future offenders. For example, in Vietnam, there are traffic regulations aimed to prevent reckless driving; however, those are not strong enough to stop drivers from taking risks. Besides, many traffic wardens in this country are too lenient and just let the law-breakers off with a warning or at most a small fine. If this were to be implemented soon, cases of road accidents can be considerably reduced. In addition to this, for more serious offenses such as driving under the influence of substances, besides a tidy sum of money as a fine, tougher measure such as the confiscation of their driving licenses or a stilt of community service should be adopted as those people are highly dangerous to others when they are behind the wheel.

On the other hand, other steps are also of great use when it comes to curbing traffic problems. The first option is for authorities to install more CCTVs on the street. This action would do wonders to stop any drives who have the intention of braking the speed limits or jumping the red lights. Without such misconducts, the chances of accidents are much slimmer. However, some may argue that this may cost a huge amount of tax-payers’ money which can be used otherwise. This of course holds some truth, but this step can benefit each individual and the society as a whole. Another answer to this problem is to increase the number and frequency of traffic wardens on the street. Psychologically speaking, the mere presence of the police or people of authority can exert a significant influence on people’s behavior. In fact, if someone is thinking of breaking the law and they catch sight of a cop, they may drop their intended act for that moment.

To conclude, stricter measures to deal with the problem do have its merits. There are, nonetheless, other solutions which should be adopted along with only punishing people for their wrong, possibly unintentional, doings.