The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic safety measures have long been on the government’s agenda worldwide. Some people argue that to make road travel safer, government has to punish drivers more harshly if they break the traffic law. I agree with the view that punishment can help curb road offenses, but it should not be taken as the only solution.

Admittedly, a severe punishment is vital considering its deterrent effect on those who are likely to disobey road regulations. For example, Australia is one of the safest countries all over the world. In this country, traffic violators are fined more seriously than some other countries. An instance is drivers will be detained if they are found to have drunk driving and a severe fine will be applied for over speeding rather than just verbal warning in some other places. Therefore, drivers and pedestrians become more aware of traffic laws and demonstrate improved law compliance, since they know the serious consequences of their risky actions.

However, despite the importance of imposing harsh regulations, the authorities should not overlook other options that may sometimes achieve better outcomes. One salient example is that raising the legal driving age could contribute to the improvement of road safety. It is seen that youths are legally allowed to drive after 16 or 17 in some countries, such as Philippines and United Kingdom. However, teenagers are usually more impetuous but less mature than adults,

hence are more likely to disobey the traffic regulations. As a result, increasing the legal driving age to 21.5 in countries with high traffic accident rates could enhance young people’s awareness of traffic law since they have more time for

training.

In conclusion, the apparent effectiveness of the harsher punishment measures on traffic law offenders should be acknowledged. However, this is not the only way that achieves better and safer usage of roads. An integrated approach should be adopted such as raising the legal driving age.