The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To a certain extent I agree that reducing the commuting demand might improve traffic congestions in some big cities. However, I also believe that the government can use other solutions to solve this problem.

On the one hand, decreasing the travelling need will bring some benefits. Firstly, it might help to reduce the number of transports moves on roads. This means it is easy to travel and traffic jams rarely appear. The roads will become larger, which makes the number of accidents fall down. Moreover, if people can live and work in a same building, they save a lot of time and the cost for travelling. Beside that, the air and noise pollution will be enhanced by cutting the number of transportations used.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that reducing the moving demand is not the only way. Beside that, there are some possible solutions. Firstly, the government should invest in building bridges and roads to develop traffic. When infrastructure are advanced, the problems related to traffic will be tackled. Secondly, scientists should focus on researching and developing some new means of transportation, which enables everyone to travel for work, education, shopping to anywhere they want easily and conveniently. Also, the inventions in the field can help to save fuel and protect environment. Moreover, the government must always educate citizens, especially children so that they have responsibility and awareness of taking part in traffic. The government should encourage everyone to use public transports, bicycles to replace for motorbikes and cars, following traffic rules.

For the aforementioned reasons, I personally think that reducing the need for travelling of people is a possible solution, but it is not the only one.