In order to address pressing environmental issues, some people argue that environmental education should be included as a mandantory subject in school curricula, while others believe that public awareness campaigns are more effective. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether adding environmental education to compulsory subjects is a debated topic for many people. This essay discusses both sides of the argument and then I will give my own perspective.

Some argue that school curricula should have a required subject as environmental education because students may be aware of the importance of the environment. In other words, students can have knowledge of protecting the habitat from issues by learning at school. To exemplify, environmental education can give students information about deforestation or habitat loss, then build essential skills such as solving skills, etc to tackle environmental challenges. Thus, people can have serious attitudes of concern for the environment and motivation to maintain environmental quality. Despite these benefits, considering environmental education as a compulsory subject can bring a lot of drawbacks.

Yet I advocate the statement that running campaigns about awareness is more viable because of its great influence on people all over the world. To be more specific, launching a lot of campaigns can get access to people of all ages and disseminate knowledge about the reality of the environment. By the way, we can encourage people to choose products with less packaging instead of plastic bags. For instance, after engaging in these campaigns, many people start to respond and use fossil fuels economically to prevent resource depletion. As a result, more and more people can have an awareness of taking steps to mitigate risks to the habitat.

To conclude, I prefer helping people get access to knowledge and take precautions about the environment through campaigns, studying environmental education as required may be one of the most fruitful methods to resolve environmental issues, though.