in order to improve the quality of education, high school students should be encouraged to evaluate and criticise their teachers, but others think that it will result in loss of respect and discipline in classroom. what is your opinion?

When it comes to inviting the input of students and seeking their comments on their teachers' performance, there are divergent views. Many people object to this practise, saying that it will be at the expense of respect and discipline. From my point of view, students' participation in teacher appraisal is definitely helpful, but it should be administrated properly.

A strong argument for using students rating to evaluate teachers is that students' judgement is reliable and impartial. because of their ongoing interation with teachers throughout the semester, students have the authority to measure the performance and competence of their teachers. it will be reflected on the knowledge they have obtained from learning and the stance they have adopted toward subjects taught. As a result, teachers can enhance their competence and adjust teaching aims and methods for attainment of students' learning objective. in addition, it is an irrefutable that students are in a advantaged position to meditate deeply on teachers' teaching practice and commitment. only by collecting students' feedback on some observable facts such as the punctuality and the legibility of his or her writing can the school assess their performance. This, thus, help to improve the standard of teaching and learning in schools.

Despite these overt advantages of encouraging students' input, it might negative affect the position of teachers. In other words, this practice many incite the feeling of powerlessness and being disrespected, which may, in turn, impede their performance. Besides, there are numerous students who are mischievous and disobedient would provide misinterpretations, leaving teachers an inaccurate picture of their strengths and weaknesses. This, hence, leads them into a poor judgement about what can do to satisfy the needs of their students.

As discussed above, students' judgements provide an important source of data for evaluating teachers, helping them to discover their disadvantages and improve their performance.